Legend of Nepal: GAUTAM BUDDHA

微信图片 20201101193853

Gautam Buddha is one of the immortal legends in Nepal as in the world. He is a symbol of peace, sympathy, and non-violence. He is also known as the messenger of peace and light of Asia. The Buddha was born in the holy land of Lumbini which lies in Rupandehi district of Lumbini province, Nepal. The Buddha’s father Suddodhana was the king of the Sakyamuni Clan. His wife was Queen Mayadevi. According to the legend, it is said that Queen Mayadevi had an extraordinary dream on the night of the full moon. It tells us that a special existence, the ninth incarnation of Lord Vishnu, Buddha, is about to be reborn on earth. Legend has it that four patron saints in the world carried Queen Maya to the Himalayas on her bed. They anointed her with sacred perfume and decorated her with heavenly flowers.

Then, white elephant with six tusks descended from the sky carrying a lotus flower from its torso into her womb. It is also said that the Buddha chose the time and place of rebirth. Another legend has that The Buddha took seven steps after he was born. The birthname of Buddha was named as Siddhartha  which means the one who has accomplished everything. The family summoned the Brahmin priest to predict the future of the young prince. It is said that the Buddha was born with 32 special symbols of perfect human beings called 32 Lakshanas of Mahapurusha. They only appear in those human beings who will go on to who become the world conquerors or the awakened or enlightened ones.

One day, when he sneaked out of the palace, he learned about pain, suffering, disease and death. So he decided to leave home and family to find answers to  these inevitable things. The four phases of Buddhas life are defined by four important places which are: Lumbini, Nepal(the place where he was born), Bodhgaya(The place where he got enlightened or received the knowledge), Saranath( The place where he gave his teachings and advices to his followers) and finally Kushinagar( the place where he finally rested).He went to different teachers, different places and tried different ways of meditation. It was such a harsh meditation that he nearly died. Even after days of pain and meditation even refusing water he gained nothing. On the verge of extreme weakness, he was offered a bowl of rice and milk by a kind young girl which he accepted.

He learnt that it was not the mean to liberate him and transcend him to spiritual relief . After that he sat under the bodhi tree and meditate until he gets enlightened. He became good at purifying the mind through meditation and enlightened thought. Suddenly, everything became clear to him. He was inspired and transcended to a higher consciousness. Finally he emerged as the enlightened one or the awakened one. The state is what we call nirvana or Moksha or Enlightenment. It is the state in which Buddha finally got answers to all the worldly pain, desires, inevitability  such as death and rebirth of soul. He freed himself from the feelings of jealousy, shame, guilt, fear, sadness, pain, laziness, irritation, frustration etc. He was in the possession of clear mind, memory, focus, keen sense and thought.

After the Enlightenment, he traveled to different places to teach his followers and students his suggestions and teachings. The first teaching delivered by Buddha is called The first sermon ( Setting in motion of the wheel of Dharma sutta). It includes the Four Noble truths and Noble Eightfold path. The Four Noble truths are: dukkha, Samudaya, Nirodha and Magga whereas the Noble Eightfold paths are: Right Views, Right Thought, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness and Right meditation.

These are the pillars of Buddhism. Gautam Buddha died at the age of 80 in place called Kushinagar. Today, the teachings and advices of Buddha is in the form of Buddhism, the religion which inspires to attain peace and happiness through clear thought and meditation.

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link